• July 15, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Hello all,

I am a social worker by training, and by extension am interested in the ways astrology can be used to support mental and behavioral health, as well as relationships.  One of the most important factors in helping someone, we are taught in social work, is the quality of the therapeutic relationship.  A lot of the time, the quality of relationship has more impact on treatment outcomes than any clinical interventions that might be employed.  Accordingly, in my astrology practice, I try to build positive connections with my clients, but frequently find myself mulling over what exactly it means to “help” someone using astrology.

At a minimum, I try my best to help a client feel welcome and understood.  On most days, I am also able to provide some validation of a client’s experience.  On good days, I am able to trigger some new insights, and on what I think are my best days, I make my clients cry–the good, healing kind of crying.

Past this point, I struggle a little with what is “helpful.”  I am always more comfortable going back in time with a client to help interpret and support their understanding (and releasing) of past experiences than I am providing information about their future.  I often wonder how beneficial it is to “prepare” clients for a future that may or may not turn out the way anyone (even a seasoned astrologer) might expect.

Does anyone else struggle with this?  How do you understand yourself to be “helping” your clients?

• July 20, 2015 at 9:36 am